breakfast wedding reception seattle

Tabletop: Day Into Night

Saturday evening isn’t the only game in town. We stage Axis Pioneer Square for breakfast, lunch, and dinner celebrations. | Photographs by Dennis Wise

wedding-breakfast-reception

Breakfast 

Bright & Early  Who doesn’t love brunch? Especially after learning that Elvis and Priscilla Presley were married in a morning ceremony in 1967, event specialist Carna Lapping of Very Important Events fell in love with daybreak vows and leisurely, cheery celebrations with crossword-puzzle place cards, a Bloody Mary bar, and all the indulgences of favorite Sunday spots. Aside from the fun décor and details—old-school coffee tins, burlap bean sacs—early events allow couples to “skip a long, drawn-out day of build-up and stress,” Lapping says, pointing out that too much prep time can sometimes complicate matters. After a morning of locally roasted brew and a menu of Lisa Dupar Catering’s minis—bite-size waffles with chicken, tiny cinnamon rolls, silver-dollar wildflower honey cakes—couples can luxuriate with guests and have all day for photographs and honeymoon trailblazing.

 

breakfast-wedding-reception-bloody-mary-bar

Resources
Event planning
Very Important Events (206-258-6900, veryimportantevents.com) Flowers Cashmere Floral Design (cashmeredesigns.com) Table linens Choice Linens (206-728-7731, choicelinens.com) Printed goods Real Card Studio (206-320-7714, realcardstudio.com) Dinnerware Ruffles and Rust Square (rufflesandrustsquare.com) Flatware AA Party (aaparty.com) Chairs Rented Elegance (425-462-2244, rentedelegance.com) Catering Lisa Dupar Catering (duparandcompany.com) Tins Gilman Antique Gallery (425-369-2416)

 

lunch-wedding-reception-lovely-events

Lunch

Make Their Day Bouncing off Axis’s former life—the building once housed a globe factory; a wall of vintage specimens nods to that past—Audra Goetz of Lovely Events staged a global celebration timed for the midday meal. “With daytime celebrations, you don’t really have to reinvent the wheel when it comes to design,” Goetz notes. “Just by having a lunch reception you’re doing something novel and fun.” Nonetheless, she and her team created a naturally elegant mood where earthy, imaginative elements—compass favors, botanical garlands, a hand-cut hanging art piece—feel totally fresh. An international trio of preset desserts from Tallant House includes a Norwegian wreath cake, or kransekake, a Queen Victoria torte (similar to the on-trend naked cake), and polvorones, or Mexican wedding cookies.

 

Resources
Event design, favors, décor Lovely Events (206-251-7528, lovemelovely.com) Linens Creative Coverings (creativecoverings.com) Dinnerware, stemware AA Party (425-640-5547, aaparty.com) Flatware, chairs ABC Special Event Rentals by Cort (877-939-7368, abcrentals.com) Floral design Vases Wild (360-221-1013, vaseswild.com) Dessert Tallant House (425-737-1533, tallanthouse.com) Printed matter Wonderstruck Paper (206-538-0543, wonderstruckeventdesign.com) Hanging paper décor Celeste Cooning (celestecooning.com)

Lunch Wedding Reception - Lovely Events Seattle, WA

 

dinner-wedding-reception-seattle-wedding

Dinner

Gilded Moonlight How to pull off a black-tie event that isn’t one bit stuffy? Trade black for navy, white for pink, and add plenty of modern and poppy gold accents. This Friday-night table by En Fleur Event Design’s Molly Jackson sets the stage for a pink Champagne toast kickoff to what she calls a “rich and reserved” literary and historical late-night bash. Amid the laser-cut metallic paper pieces that create a table runner, stacks of blue-bound novels reference another previous inhabitant of Axis’s space: Elliott Bay Books. Guests find floating garden roses, a suspended centerpiece, of-the-moment gold-dipped feathers that nod at old-fashioned quill pens atop take-home journals, and a menu that swags down to meet custom cushions created by Jackson to mirror Honey Crumb’s fondant-covered cake.

Resources

Event design, flowers, favors En Fleur Event Design (206-200-3664, enfleurfloral.com) Linens, stemware, dinnerware Pedersen’s Event Rentals (206-749-5400, pedersens.com) Flatware ABC Special Event Rentals by Cort (877-939-7368, abcrentals.com) Paper matter Chic Ink (425-392-3943, chicink.com) Chairs Axis Pioneer Square (206-681-9316, axispioneersquare.com) Dessert Honey Crumb Cake Studio (425-577-9220, honeycrumb.com)

dinner-wedding-reception-seattle dinner-wedding-reception-seattle-dessert dinner-wedding-reception-plating